Upper Norwood, London, SE19, UK Upper Norwood Cheap VPS and cloud hosting from UK2


Upper Norwood is both defined and divided by a number of political and administrative boundaries.

Upper Norwood boundaries


A Borough is a local government administrative district controlled by locally elected Councillors.  The Council is responsible for education, housing, social services, street cleaning, waste disposal, roads, local planning and many arts and leisure services.

Upper Norwood spans four Boroughs: Croydon, Lambeth, Bromley, and Southwark.

Return to top of page

Borough Wards

Boroughs are divided into electoral districts called wards.  Each one is represented by one or more Councillors.

Upper Norwood spans five wards: Upper Norwood and South Norwood (Croydon), Gipsy Hill (Lambeth), Crystal Palace (Bromley) and College (Southwark).

Upper Norwood (Croydon)

Councillor Alisa Fleming Pat Ryan John Wentworth
Party Labour Labour Labour

South Norwood (Croydon)

Councillor Jane Avis Kathy Bee Wayne Trakas-Lawlor
Party Labour Labour Labour

Gipsy Hill (Lambeth)

Councillor Matthew Bennett Niranjan Francis Jennifer Brathwaite
Party Labour Labour Labour

Crystal Palace (Bromley)

Councillor Angela Wilkins Richard Williams
Party Labour Labour

College (Southwark)

Councillor Helen Hayes Jon Hartley Andy Simmons
Party Labour Labour Labour

Wards are regularly reviewed and their boundaries may be redefined in the future.

Return to top of page

Parliamentary Constituencies

There are 646 Parliamentary constituencies in the UK (May 2005 general election), each electing a single Member of Parliament (MP) to the House of Commons (the primary legislative chamber) by the Simple Majority (‘First Past the Post’) electoral system.  Upper Norwood spans three of these constituencies: Croydon North, Dulwich and West Norwood and Beckenham.

Constituencies are generally based on whole or part local authority boundaries, with the sizes of the electorates in each being as similar as possible.  A general review of these boundaries is undertaken every 8 to 12 years in order to ensure electoral equality and normally lead to large-scale changes.  However, localised interim reviews can occur at any time and may only usually lead to minor changes.

Croydon North

Sitting MP Steve Reed
Party Labour
Website http://www.steve4croydon.co.uk

Dulwich and West Norwood

Sitting MP Helen Hayes
Party Labour
Website http://www.helenhayes.org.uk


Sitting MP Colonel Bob Stewart DSO
Party Conservative
Website http://www.bobstewart.org.uk

Return to top of page

GLA Constituencies

The Greater London Authority (GLA) is a unique form of strategic citywide government for London responsible for such things as air quality, bio-diversity, culture and tourism, economic development, transport, waste, land use and planning.  It is made up of a directly elected Mayor - the Mayor of London - and a separately elected Assembly - the London Assembly - of 25 members.

The GLA has four functional bodies to oversee police, fire and emergency planning, economic development and transport.

Upper Norwood spans three GLA constituencies: Croydon and Sutton, Lambeth and Southwark, and Bexley and Bromley.

Croydon and Sutton

Sitting Member Steve O'Connell
Party Conservative

Lambeth and Southwark

Sitting Member Val Shawcross
Party Labour

Bexley and Bromley

Sitting Member James Cleverly
Party Conservative

Return to top of page

European Parliamentary Constituency

The 32 London Boroughs form the area of the London constituency of the European Parliament.  It currently elects 9 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) using party-list proportional representation.

Return to top of page

Postal Districts

The London postal district SE19 covers areas of five Borough wards: Upper Norwood and South Norwood (Croydon), Gipsy Hill (Lambeth), Crystal Palace (Bromley) and College (Southwark).  Postal districts SW16 and CR7 also cover part of Upper Norwood ward.

The Royal Mail has sub-divided postal districts by streets and buildings, assigning postcodes to aid the automatic sorting of mail.  These postcodes have now been adopted for many other purposes (buildings and vehicles insurance risk, catchment areas for schools, doctors surgeries, etc., credit ratings, etc.).

Please note that postal districts and postcodes may be subject to change in the future.

Return to top of page

This web site is intended to provide businesses, visitors and new or potential property owners or tenants with information about the area and the features it has to offer.  Please note that much of the information and service details provided are subject to regular review and may change in the future.  Always check with the appropriate sources for current details.